By Anthony Martinelli

Illinois Marijuana Possession Laws:

10 g or less Civil Violation Incarceration: None Fine: $200
More than 10 – 30 g (first offense) Misdemeanor Incarceration: 1 year Fine: $2,500
More than 10 – 30 g (subsequent offense) Felony Incarceration: 1* – 6 years Fine: $25,000
More than 30 – 500 g (first offense) Felony Incarceration: 1* – 6 years Fine: $25,000
More than 30 – 500 g (subsequent offense) Felony Incarceration: 2* – 10 years Fine: $25,000
More than 500 – 2000 g Felony Incarceration: 2* – 10 years Fine: $25,000
More than 2000 – 5000 g Felony Incarceration: 3* – 14 years Fine: $25,000
More than 5000 g Felony Incarceration: 4* – 30 years Fine: $25,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

For further information on Illinois marijuana laws – including penalties for distribution and cultivation – click here (take note that the laws for distribution are incredibly harsh, with the sale of just 5 pounds resulting in a potential 20 year prison sentence). For recent updates to Illinois marijuana possession laws and other Illinois-related stories, click here.

The post Illinois Marijuana Possession Laws appeared first on TheJointBlog.

Read this full story…..: Illinois Marijuana Possession Laws